Cloudette

This week for Fizz Boom Read! the theme was weather. We’ve been having some extra gloomy weather lately, so it was a good opportunity to talk about clouds, rain, thunder, lightning, and even hail.

We started with an action rhyme called, “I See the Wind,” about how we know when it’s windy:

I see the wind when the leaves dance by (dance hands around)
I see the wind when the clothes wave, “Hi!” (wave hand)
I see the wind when the trees bend low (bend arms over and down)
I see the wind when the flags all blow (wave arms high)
I see the wind when the kites fly high (raise arms high)
I see the wind when the clouds float by (wave hand gently)
I see the wind when it blows my hair (lift hair with hands)
I see the wind ‘most everywhere (hold hands out, palms up)

I found this rhyme at ChildFun.

Our first book was It Looked Spilt Milk, the classic picture book by Charles G. Shaw. Each dark blue page has a splotch of bright white that looks like all different kinds of animals. But what is it, really?

We took a brief break after our first story to play with our animals dice and get some of our energy out.

Our second book was Cloudette by Tom Lichtenheld, a lovely book about a very little cloud who wants to do big and important things.

After our books, we did our craft. I mixed glue and shaving cream to make white puffy paint, and every kid got a brush and a piece of bright blue paper. Then we made big, puffy clouds:

Puffy Paint Clouds

Our last activity was some free time to play with straws and connectors.

Join us next week when the theme will be animals!

Leave a Reply

