Dinosaur Starts School

Our books today:

We started preschool class today with our new opening action rhyme:

Sometimes my hands are at my side
Then behind my back they hide
Sometimes I wiggle my fingers just so
Shake them fast
Shake them slow
Sometimes my hands go
CLAP, CLAP, CLAP!
Then I rest them in my lap

Then, we settled onto our cushions and chairs and started our first book, Dino-Baby by Mark Sperring & Sam Lloyd. This is a super cute story about a little dinosaur learning how to behave around her brand new baby brother. The characters are dinosaurs, but the lessons are very appropriate for human siblings as well (be quiet while the baby sleeps, share your toys, don’t play too rough).

After our book, we went on a dinosaur scavenger hunt. I taped pictures of dinosaurs to the walls of the program room, and each child was given a crayon and a sheet of paper with all the pictures they would be looking for. The pictures printed much smaller than I was expecting (oops!), so it was an extra challenging scavenger hunt.

After our scavenger hunt, we broke up into two groups. One small group went to the water table to explore icy cold dinosaur eggs:

To make the eggs, I put small plastic dinosaurs in balloons,doing my best to not let sharp tails and horns tear at the balloon. I filled the balloon with water at the faucet, then pinched and tied the end. I put them in the freezer and let them sit there until I was ready to use them.

Because I couldn’t give the kids anything sharp enough to chip the ice away, we went a different route. An hour before storytime started, I poured a pitcher of warm water into the water table. Then I cut and peeled the balloon off of the eggs and put them in the warm water. I sprinkled some salt over them, then put the lid back on the water table.

When it was time for the kids to “open” the eggs, I poured a few cups of fresh warm water and gave each kid a plastic dropper that they could use to drip the warm water onto the ice eggs. Warm water refills and additional salt sprinklings helped speed up the process further.

While the first group was working on their ice eggs, the rest of the kids were painting salt dough dinosaur eggs:

Dino Egg Craft

I used the same salt dough recipe from last week, from Learning4Kids.

As the kids got done melting the eggs and painting the other eggs, they traded places. Once everyone had had a turn at both activities, we sat down for our second book, Dinosaur Starts School by Pamela Duncan Edwards & Deborah Allwright. This is another very cute story about a dinosaur who is awfully nervous about his very first day at school. Luckily, he has a friend who assures him that everything will be just fine. This would be a great read for any kids anxious about starting something new.

After our second book, we did our ending action rhyme:

Touch your nose
Touch your chin
That’s the way
This game begins
Touch your eyes
Touch your knees
Now pretend
You’re going to sneeze
ACHOO!
Touch your elbows
Where they bend
Jump right up and say
THE END!

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

