Dinosaur Cave

Dinosaur Pals

Our dinosaur theme is still going strong!

This week, we started preschool class with “My Hands.”

Sometimes my hands are at my side
Then behind my back they hide
Sometimes I wiggle my fingers just so
Shake them fast
Shake them slow
Sometimes my hands go
CLAP, CLAP, CLAP!
Then I rest them in my lap

We moved on to two stories, Countasaurus and Colorasaurus, both by Megan E. Bryant and Luciana Navarro Powell. Like their book Alphasaurus, which we read last week, these board books are shaped like dinosaurs, feature lots of cute, brightly colored illustrations, and emphasize core concepts like letters, numbers, shapes, and colors.

After our first two books, the kids split up into two groups. The first group went to the tables and played with kinetic sand. The second, smaller group went to play in the dinosaur cave I’d made out of Straws and Connectors.

Dinosaur Cave

The cave held up really well, and I only needed to reconnect a few straws to fix it when we were all done with it. I taped blue streamers over the arch to make it look sort of like a waterfall, but the streamers would cling to the kids’ clothing and hair and pull the arch downwards as they moved around, so I wouldn’t recommend it.

After the kids had played for a while, we went to work on our art project. We made dinosaurs out of our handprints. At the beginning of class, before we had even started our stories, I had each kid make a handprint on paper using a giant ink pad. The ink dried as we read and played, and we were then able to turn them into little dinos. I didn’t manage to grab a picture of them, but they’re super easy to make. I gave them markers and told them to turn their handprint upside down, draw a face on the thumb, draw feet on the fingers, then add whatever scales, plates, and horns they wanted to. They got very creative!

We had one more book this time, another board book called Dinosaur Pals. This a very short, sweet rhyming story with bright, fun illustrations.

We wrapped up with “Touch Your Nose.”

Touch your nose
Touch your chin
That’s the way
This game begins
Touch your eyes
Touch your knees
Now pretend
You’re going to sneeze
ACHOO!
Touch your elbows
Where they bend
Jump right up and say
THE END!

Join us next week for our last dinosaur themed preschool class!

Leave a Reply

