Roadwork

Construction month continued this week!

We started with “My Hands.”

Sometimes my hands are at my side
Then behind my back they hide
Sometimes I wiggle my fingers just so
Shake them fast
Shake them slow
Sometimes my hands go
CLAP, CLAP, CLAP!
Then I rest them in my lap

Then we moved on to our next book, Roadwork by Sally Sutton and Brian Lovelock. The kids liked Demolitionso much last week, I decided to read another book by the same author and illustrator. Like Demolition, Roadwork is full of great noise words and colorful, attention-grabbing pictures. This one was another hit, for sure!

After our story, we got moving with our exercise dice. To switch things up, I wrote six new actions on the board, then we tossed a small soft dice and did whatever action corresponded to the number that had been rolled. Our six actions were:

  1. stand on one leg
  2. hop on one leg
  3. touch your toes
  4. stretch your arms up high
  5. twist from side to side
  6. jump up and down

Our craft this week was really simple. I gave the kids big pieces of white paper, Legos, and washable inkpads. They pressed the Legos in the ink and used them like stamps on the paper. Once they had experimented with that a bit, I passed out markers so they could write their names and color their designs in if they wanted to.

After our craft, I got out some printable roads and magnetic car parts so the kids could build and drive their own vehicles.

Our last story was Toot Toot Beep Beep by Emma Garcia. This one had lots of great car noises, and the kids really liked pointing out what color each car was and which car was their favorite.

We ended with “Touch Your Nose.”

Touch your nose
Touch your chin
That’s the way
This game begins
Touch your eyes
Touch your knees
Now pretend
You’re going to sneeze
ACHOO!
Touch your elbows
Where they bend
Jump right up and say
THE END!

Join us next week for more construction fun!

Leave a Reply

