min 'n' match monsters

Monsters on Machines

This week’s Preschool Class was a bit of a mash-up between our construction theme and monster madness for Halloween!

Monsters on Machines

We began with “My Hands.”

Sometimes my hands are at my side
Then behind my back they hide
Sometimes I wiggle my fingers just so
Shake them fast
Shake them slow
Sometimes my hands go
CLAP, CLAP, CLAP!
Then I rest them in my lap

Then we started this week’s story, Monsters on Machines by Deb Lund and Robert Neubecker. This is the story of a group of little monsters who are on a construction site, using cranes and rollers and other big machines to build a very colorful and spooky house.

Next, we made our own monsters for our craft. I used a template from the publisher’s website.

make your own monster

When we were done with our monsters, we played with some flubber I made ahead of time. Whenever I make a batch of flubber, I use the recipe from Live Craft Eat. I also got out a box of “stuff” (Popsicle sticks, wooden beads, straws, pipe cleaners, etc.) for the kids to use with their flubber.

box of stuffOur last activity was a game of mix ‘n’ match monsters. I found a fantastic set of templates at ARTiculation360. You can also find instructions on how to play the game.

We finished up with “Touch Your Chin.”

Touch your nose
Touch your chin
That’s the way
This game begins
Touch your eyes
Touch your knees
Now pretend
You’re going to sneeze
ACHOO!
Touch your elbows
Where they bend
Jump right up and say
THE END!

Join us next month when we start a new theme: Up, Down, and All Around!

Leave a Reply

