window art

Construction

Building storytime kicked off this morning with some of my favorite books about construction.

We began with our opening rhyme, and then we read our first book, Construction by Sally Sutton and Brian Lovelock. This is a colorful, noisy book filled with all kinds of different construction equipment. The kids had fun guessing what they were building (“house” and “house for cows” were the most popular guesses).

This week, in lieu of a take-home craft, we decorated the basement windows:

window art

Before storytime started, I taped three large sheets of contact paper to the window. I peeled the paper backing off, and retaped the sheets with the sticky side facing me. I also cut several sheets of tissue paper into different shapes. Each child was given a tray with an assortment of tissue paper shapes that they could stick to the contact paper to make buildings. They really enjoyed this activity!

Next, we tried an experiment that I thought was going to fail. I got out a bunch of paper cups and some strips of sturdy construction paper. I showed the kids how to make a tower by alternating between cups and construction paper. I challenged them to make the tallest tower they could. I was afraid they would think it was boring or too difficult, but they had a lot of fun, and they worked really hard on their concentration skills and fine motor skills.

Our last activity was a building free-for-all. I got out foam blocks, Bristle Blocks, and Playstix and let them build whatever they wanted.

Before our last book, we learned a new action rhyme, “Five in the Truck”:

There were five in the truck
And the little hen clucked,
Move over, move over!
So they all moved over,
And one fell out…

There were four in the truck…
There were three in the truck…
There were two in the truck…

One hen in the truck
And the little hen clucked,
I’ve go the whole truck to myself,
I’ve got the whole truck to myself,
I’ve got the whole truck to myself!

We all clucked like chickens and flapped our wings and had a great time.

Our last book was Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker and Tom Lichtenheld. This is one of my favorite books to read aloud. The pictures are cute, the rhyming text is fun, and it’s a nice winding-down, calm story.

We finished up with our closing rhyme. Next week we’ll be back with more building books, crafts, and activities!

One thought on “Construction

Leave a Reply

